Leaving Southside Christian Church

August 21, 2006 — 5 Comments

Yesterday I resigned as the preacher at Southside Christian Church to accept a call to be on the preaching team at Christ’s Church in Jacksonville, Florida (http://www.ccontheweb.com/).

Here’s an excerpt of the letter I read at the end of our service yesterday:

This is a special place and I’ve always pictured myself being at Southside for my entire ministry, but my wife and I are now convinced that staying at Southside is not God’s plan for us right now.

After several months of prayer and discussion my wife and I have agreed to accept a call to join the preaching team at Christ’s Church in Jacksonville, Florida. We are excited about this step, because it is truly a step of faith for us. We are stepping out of our comfort zone, but we feel comfort in knowing that, with this step of faith, we will be walking with the Lord into a new phase of service.

I have been a part of Southside for twelve years. It was my first preaching ministry, the only church my kids have ever known, our home, and my passion.

I’ve loved every minute of my ministry at Southside and I will miss my staff, the leadership team, the people, and . . . I will even miss setting up & tearing down chairs each week.

My last Sunday at Southside is September 24th. Please pray for Southside and for my family during this difficult transition.

Over the next month I plan to blog about this experience.

5 responses to Leaving Southside Christian Church

  1. 

    Aaron,

    God’s Blessings on your transition…I am confident that God will use your talents nad passion at Christ’s Church and it will also allow someone else to step into leadership at Southside. I will be praying for you during this exciting time!

    Brian Brunke

  2. 

    Arron!! Let me be one of the first to welcome you to Christ’s Church! You have been on my prayer list since the first time you spoke here!! I am so excited about what you will bring to Christ’s Church!! “You can never know at the onset all that God intends to do through your simple act of obedience.”- Erwin McManus

  3. 

    Arron, I read carefully all the information on your new church’s website and baptism is never mentioned. Even under the category of “Christianity” where it talks of needing the forgiveness of sins and that being possible only through Christ, it doesn’t mention that one reaches Christ’s blood in baptism according to the Scriptures. It seems purposefully vague on the Website and this is of great concern. Also, how would you defend Saturday worship when the Bible tells of early Christians meeting on the first day of the week?

    I am just looking for your comments on these items. It is confusing for me.

  4. 

    Janiejoy,

    Thanks for your questions. I’m grateful that you brought them to my attention directly. These are some of the questions I pondered as I was considering this ministry.

    Re: Baptism

    Here’s a quote from the Church’s old website (http://www.mandarinchristian.com/aboutus478b.html):

    We believe that salvation -forgiveness of sins -is available only by the grace of God through the blood of Jesus Christ. This free gift of forgiveness is offered to all who receive Christ as Lord and Savior. (Ephesians 2:8-9; Colossians 2:6; John 3:16)

    We believe the Bible clearly teaches the pattern to receive Christ is to believe in Jesus as God’s Son and Savior of the world, repent of personal sin, confess Christ publicly, and be baptized. ( Romans 10:9; Acts 2: 36-38; Mark 16:16 )

    We believe that full immersion under water is the prescribed mode of baptism as indicated by Jesus’ own example and command, and best depicts our union in His death, burial, and resurrection. ( Mark 1:9-10; Matthew 28:19; Romans 6:4 )

    Christ’s Church is in the process of changing websites, so that may explain the confusion.

    I’ll just tell you that this statement of faith is consistent with what I’ve heard, been told, and read in their “What We Believe” literature.

    I’ll blog about Saturday Evening Worship in a few days.

    Once again–thanks for giving me an opportunity to address these important issues.

    Be blessed.
    Arron

  5. 
    Paine Bible notes September 27, 2006 at 7:56 pm

    Note to Janiejoy:

    A good resolution to the “Baptism necessary for salvation?” question is Ephesians 1:13, 14 —

    “In Him you also TRUSTED, after you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation; in whom also, having BELIEVED, you were SEALED, (i.e. a finished transaction; ownership; and security) with the Holy Spirit of promise, who is the guarantee of our inheritance until the redemption of the purchased possession, to the praise of His glory. (NKJV)

    Paul clarified the issue in 1 Cor. 1:17 — “For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel, not with wisdom of words, lest the cross of Christ should be made of no effect.” (Paul baptized Crispus, Gaius and the household of Stephanas, apparently no others.)

    Abbott Paine

Leave a Reply

