No TV Week

August 9, 2006 — Leave a comment

A couple of weeks ago my wife decided that this week would be a “No TV Week” in the Chambers’ household. She asked me what I thought and I said, “Great idea.”

Sunday after church, as I was preparing myself for an afternoon in my nap chair watching the NASCAR race, I remembered my wife’s terrible idea.

“Oh great!” I grumbled beneath my breath, but just loud enough for my wife to hear.

She gave me “the look” and I acted like I was just joking, putting on my spiritual-I-hate-TV-because-I’m-a-Christian-but-I-watch-it-just-for-the-news-so-I-can-be-a-better-and-more-relevant-evangelistic-tool-for-God-smile, while all the while on the inside I was shouting in my wife’s general direction, “What were you thinking!?!”

So, here we are on Day 3 of our “No TV Week” and it actually hasn’t been that bad. I’ve already noticed some interesting things starting to happen and I thought I’d take a little time each day for the rest of this week to share with you some of the things I’m observing in my home without TV.

Observation #1: My kids seem to get along better when they have to get along better. My wife and I never let the kids watch that much TV anyway, but the little they did watch allowed them to disengage from each other for some time each day, but with no TV they seem to be–in a desperate attempt at surviving what they view as “boredom”–more engaged in each other’s lives than they usually are. They’ve been playing games with each other, laughing at each other’s jokes, and listening to each other a little more.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

