Good book . . . so far.

July 21, 2006 — 1 Comment


I’m about 1/3 of the way through a book by Mark Driscoll entitled, “Confessions of a Reformission Rev.: Hard Lessons From An Emerging Missional Church.” I’ve heard of Mark, but have never read anything by him until this week.

Here’s a quick bio on Mark: Mark Driscoll is one of the 50 most influential pastors in America, and the founder of Mars Hill Church in Seattle (www.marshillchurch.org), the Paradox Theater, and the Acts 29 Network which has planted scores of churches. In eight years Mars Hill has grown from a few people to thousands.

I’m really enjoying this book, so far. It’s really resonating with me because of the situation we are in at Southside. I like his writing style. It is very straight-forward and easy to understand. He is a little “coarse” at times–which had not endeared him to some in the Christian world–but I find him really refreshing.

The book is really a history of the growth of the Mars Hill Church. The chapter titles are based on the size of the church at that time.

In chapter one, “0-45 People”, Mark reflects on four strategic errors he made that nearly killed the progress of his church. Here’s what he wrote:

“First, I had a very informal leadership structure, which permitted heretics, nutjobs, and pushy types to wield a lot of power . . .

Second, the Church was based on relationships that were all connected to me, and we did not have formal small groups to connect people to each other. This kept me from working on growing the church, and I got stuck being friends with the handful of people we already had . . .

Third, I had not clearly articulated in written form what we would and would not fight over theologically . . .

Fourth, I greatly underestimated Solomon’s statement that ‘money is the answer for everything’ (Eccl. 10:19). Somehow I got the idea that money was a dirty thing and that to talk about it, receive it, or spend it was also dirty” (Confessions, p. 46).

If you–like me–have made (or are making) some of these same mistakes, you might want to pick up this book.

One response to Good book . . . so far.

  1. 

    Looks like a good book Arron. I like writers who get right to it and don’t mince words. I hope it’s in audio form…I already have three “need to reads” in my stack.

Leave a Reply

