NACC–Wednesday & Thursday, July 28-29, 2006

June 29, 2006 — Leave a comment

From the stage, on several occasions, the 2006 NACC has been called a “Family Reunion.” This conjures up several images in my mind.

Eating. My family likes to eat, so when we are together each meal is an event. Reunion meals are cherished times during which we catch up on each other’s lives, share stories, and reconnect with each other. So much more than eating occurs during mealtime. Eating out is one of the great things about the NACC. The breaks between main sessions become little slices of Heaven, but unlike the NACC, our fellowship times in Heaven won’t be rushed, infrequent, or expensive!

Laughing. When we are together we love to laugh. Like you, we’ve experienced a lot of pain in this life, but we have an unquenchable hope that floods our family reunions with laughter. I have laughed a lot this week. I have laughed at Wayne Smith being . . . Wayne Smith. I’ve laughed with old classmates as we recalled our days at Bible College. I’ve laughed at humorous stories in the sermons.

Singing. My family loves to sing, so there was always a time at our family reunions when we’d gather in the living room and sing. This was never planned–we’d gather like animals walking to the Ark lead by a force we couldn’t explain–but it always happened. We’d sing old songs that the young ones barely knew and we’d sing new songs that the old ones barely tolerated. Our song times are some of my favorite memories. I’ve so enjoyed the music at the NACC this year. The singing portion of each session has been such a poignant blessing to me. As I sing I find my heart filling with both love for God and longing for Heaven. I think that’s how it’s supposed to be.

Remembering. At our family reunions Grandpa told us stories about our heritage. These stories reminded me that I was a part of something much bigger than myself. This week, the organizers of the NACC have done an extraordinary job of reminding us of who we are.

We are Christians. We are one body in Christ. We are a family experiencing reunion.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

