24, Drama, and Closure–Spoiler Alert!

May 23, 2006 — 2 Comments

I love the Fox TV show, 24.

Because of Tivo, my wife and I didn’t have to miss a single hour of the most exciting day–and show (my opinion)–on TV.

Last night was the 2-hour season finale, so my wife, my brother, my sister-in-law and I cleared our schedules, sequestered the children upstairs, put the dog in the garage, and secured pop-corn, Doritoes, and plenty of soda (“pop” for you Northerners) in anticipation of closure.

We would find out if Bierko and the terrorists on the sub (with the 14 missiles pointed at various targets in California) could be stopped.

They were.

We would find out if Aaron Pierce could get off of the Presidential compound without being killed.

He could.

We would find out if the President’s wife could convice Mike Novik that her husband was the one who orchestrated the death of David Palmer.

She did.

We would find out if Jack Bauer could really trust Chris Henderson, or not.

He couldn’t.

We would find out if CTU could get evidence–hard evidence–that the President was a part of the plot to kill David Palmer, so that they could arrest him.

They could and they did.

We would find out if Audrey and Jack would get back together again.

They did–for about 23 seconds.

We would find out if Kim and Jack’s relationship could be restored, or would she still be a self-centered, spoiled kid, who makes stupid choices that require her dad–and other CTU agents–to risk their lives to save her only to have her make more stupid choices!

No way.

And, we would find out if Jack could finally do what he’s never been able to do on any episode of 24: eat something, shave, take a shower, brush his teeth, go to the bathroom, and retire in San Bernadino.

Not a chance.

Jack was kidnapped by the Chinese and is now on a ship headed for China and we have to wait until January 2007 to find out what happens next, so–for the 14 million fans who watched 24 this season each week–no closure.

And, although I really wanted more closure last night, I’m going to have to stay tuned to find out if Jack can escape.

I will and he will (he just signed a 3-year contract).

No closure makes for good TV, but bad life.

I’m eternally grateful that Jesus gave us closure and didn’t ask his disciples to stay tuned to find out if everything will get resolved. Instead, at the conclusion of his ministry, when the 12 disciples–and the rest of us–really needed to know that everything was going to be o.k., Jesus said,

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going.”
(John 14:1-4)

Closure.

They were wondering if they can really trust him.

They can.

They were wondering if Jesus is really going to prepare a place for them.

He is.

They were wondering if the mansion in that place will have enough space for all of Christ’s followers.

It will.

They were wondering if–after he leaves–he is really going to come back to get them, so that they can go to that place to be with him forever.

He is, he will, and we all will.

And, since Jesus has given me such clear and undeniable closure, I am definitely going to stay tuned.

2 responses to 24, Drama, and Closure–Spoiler Alert!

  1. 

    One of the greatest joys of Christianity is that we do not have to wait for the next season to see what is going to happen. Our God lives with us constantly–we are never left to wonder if the season will be renewed. I, too, enjoy watching 24 but I love Jesus. He, not Jack Bauer, is my champion and I will trust in His ability to fulfill His promises to me.
    Bob at Old Town

  2. 
    Arron Chambers May 24, 2006 at 7:14 pm

    Amen! Thanks Bob.

Leave a Reply

