Denver Sizemore, author of 13 Lessons in Christian Doctrine, passes away

March 2, 2010 — 10 Comments

Denver Sizemore passed away this evening, March 2nd at 9:45.  His wife reported that he taught his Bible class this morning.

Denver was a great man of God who was well-known–and respected–for his ability to make the most complex of theological issues understandable.

Well done, good and faithful servant.

10 responses to Denver Sizemore, author of 13 Lessons in Christian Doctrine, passes away

  1. 

    I have used, and used, and used, and used his stuff and will continue to use it till I die. I thank him and Jesus for giving him the ability to teach. May God continue to work through his family.

  2. 

    I first met Denver Sizemore in the fall of 1970. I was a very young and naive 18 year old, and thought that his old-fashioned way of teaching was “uncool.” It didn’t take me long to change my mind. What amazed me about Prof. Sizemore was his patience with his students. I dropped out of ACC in ’73, but returned in ’78. He took me under his wings and helped me obtain a scholarship that helped this poor student with a wife and three children. I will never forget his words of encouragement during those last two years at ACC. I am still using the material from his classes. His legacy is eternal, and will be sorely missed.

  3. 
    Maria Greenway Newman March 4, 2010 at 5:57 am

    I owe such a debt of gratitude to the Sizemores for all they did for my parents when my dad Melvin Greenway first went into ACC. They housed him in their basement and helped him get started into the ministry in so many ways. Through the years of his ministry they both were such an encourangement to my parents. Their compassion and love at the deaths of both my parents meant so much to my brother and I. There is no doubt in my mind that Mr. Sizemore is talking and walking with God right now and I hope he’s found my parents too!

  4. 

    Mr. Sizemore was a wonderful man. He worked closely with the Cambodian ministry at Westside Christian Church. He and his wife Mrs. Helen ministered with their lives to that small cambodian congregation in the late 80′s. They shared their home and always gave genuine hugs. Mr. Sizemore baptized me when I was 7 years old. I will always remember him… He was definitley a pillar of God’s love and a faithful servant…

  5. 
    Gayle Sizemore Gemeinhart April 17, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    Denver Sizemore was my father, and your kind words, that I have only discovered today, are greatly appreciated. Thank you, Arron.

  6. 

    I used the book, “Thirteen Lessons In Christian Doctrine” for many, many years during our mission work within Mexico and Honduras. “Trece Lecciones de Doctrina Biblica” has been a great resource and starting point for people without a personal realtionship with God through Jesus Christ. From the teachings of this book, multiple souls have been brought to the feet of Christ! I praise God for my brother who has now gone to be with His Creator. May we not forget the promise of Christ and the reminder from brother Sizemore (at the end of lesson 13 of this book): “One day Christ assuredly will come. We must be ready.”

  7. 
    Israel Cosmes May 6, 2010 at 9:03 am

    A good teacher, a good job, a good Christian. I do not know him personally, but the sister Cris Garcia who studied him if I only know his work 13 lessons of biblical doctrine, I studied this book and recently did a Seminar at the Christian College Center in San Luis Potosi, S.L.P, Mexico, based on his book . Denver Sizemore brother thank you very much.
    I know that we wait all the time that the Lord decide, before returning for his people. Blessings to him family.

  8. 
    Helen Sizemore July 5, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    This day, July 5, 2011, I have found this page. Thank you for sharing your thoughts . May God bless your efforts for Him.
    Helen Sizemore

  9. 

    I praise and thank God for Den’s Godly life, Commitment.dedication for God and Christian world.I am a pastor and Bible teacher.I have taught from his book “13 Lession in Christian doctrine” In Bethlehem Bible Collage Damoh ,India.It is very effective and beautiful book for all christian leaders and new beleiver.To day I was searching another book of Den’s than I come to know that he is with our hevenly father.I know Bro.know from 1995 throught his praciose books.May the blesse all over the woeld throgh his written books.Thanks.

Leave a Reply

